Cilantro-Lime Cauliflower Rice & Beans

I’ve been dying to try cauliflower “rice” for ages and finally got the chance to do so this evening. The process for making the rice is very straightforward: you cut a head of cauliflower into large chunks and run it through a food processor until you’re left with rice-sized bits of cauliflower, which you can then either pan fry or bake at 450 degrees for fifteen minutes. This blog outlines the procedure with pictures.

I was a bit overzealous with the food processor, however, and the result was more of a couscous texture than a rice texture. I then sauteed  a chopped onion and four cloves of minced garlic in a pan for five minutes. I then added the cauliflower rice, and a teaspoon each of salt and pepper and continued cooking for about seven more minutes (until the cauliflower rice starts browning). After that I added a quarter cup lime juice and two cups of black beans, after which I turned the heat to low until everything was heated through.

I served it all up topped with chopped cilantro, sliced jalapeno, a dollop of salsa verdi, and slices of avocado.

Here is the original recipe from Yummly. I made just a couple of adjustments: I increased the salt and freshly ground pepper to a teaspoon each, and I decreased the beans from three cups to two.

I’ll admit to being filled with trepidation as I served it up, but the dish was surprisingly good, and verrry fresh tasting because of the lime and cilantro.

20160113_191110.jpg

And you don’t need much to feel full!

I would definitely make this again, but I’ll do the cauliflower in smaller batches and stop at “rice” level, rather than going all the way to the mushy “couscous” level!

I also want to try roasting the cauliflower rice and will report back when I’ve done so!

Soooo…I’m on day twelve of a fully plant-based plan, and I just realized that today I ate no grains whatsoever (WOO-HOO).

Now, I do love the grains, but I tend to overindulge, so I try to avoid them until dinner when I’ll have a cup of brown basmati rice with my meal. The cauliflower rice took the place of my regular rice, however, so I’m pleased to say that I was all vegetables, fruit, and beans today! A triumph!!

 

One thought on “Cilantro-Lime Cauliflower Rice & Beans

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.